Learning the Ropes

Learning the Ropes is a progressive learning scheme for bell ringers. It is designed to use milestones to enable ringers to progress faster and further. It has five Levels from basic handling to change ringing and includes assessment by Quarter Peal.

Level 1

Level 1 is aimed at ensuring a new ringer has a strong basic technique. This is important, not only for safety reasons, but in order to facilitate the future progress of the ringer.

Level 2

Level 2 is aimed at building the core skills that are essential for further progression. Foundation skills should be practiced until they are an ‘automatic’ ringing action.

Level 3

Level 3 takes ringers from Called Changes to Change Ringing, building up to ringing the treble and covering to methods.

Level 4

Level 4 reinforces and builds on the skills developed in Level 3. During Level 4, ringers can progress up to ringing methods as part of a band of 5 or 6 ringers.

Level 5

The final Level in the classic Learning the Ropes scheme, Level 5 guides ringers up to confidently ringing methods and onto trebling to complex methods.

How to enrol

You need to be registered onto Learning the Ropes by a Teacher who has been accredited through or is using the ART Training Scheme. Find a Teacher near you through the ART website.